Present Tense : Wāhine Toi Aotearoa

Designers Speak (Up) / Directory of Women Designers

  • 30 Apr - 24 May, 2019
  • Opening event: Tue 30 Apr, 4:30 - 7:30pm
  • Day event: korero / kai / mahi coming Sat 11 May

Join us on Tue 30 April from 4:30pm for the exhibition opening of Present Tense : Wāhine Toi Aotearoa, a project featuring over 70 posters and writings by designers, artists and educators from the Directory of Women Designers.

Present Tense : Wāhine Toi Aotearoa is a moment-in-time record of the current landscape of women in design, using the poster format to give visibility and voice to the unsung diversity of Aotearoa design. This iteration of the exhibition includes silk-screen posters from ĀKAU Studio, Anna Wilkinson, Alessandra Banal, Elisapeta Hinemoa Heta, Ella Sutherland, Fiona Jack, Katie Kerr, Kyra Ta-Waka Clarke, Nell May, Pipi Press, Sarah Maxey and Sonya Lacey, along with over sixty contributions in response to the#ff3333 Poster Call

The posters will be presented in various formats, from printed to projected to published online. Written contributions — the first being Broken record by Lana Lopesi — will accompany the work and offer contextual discussion during our hīkoi around Aotearoa New Zealand.

A day of kōrero / kai / mahi will be held on Saturday 11 May, beginning with an informal hui at the Hamilton Zinefest, followed by an afternoon of poster making, finishing at RAMP Gallery

All posters submitted to Present Tense : Wāhine Toi Aotearoa in response to the initial call, and ongoing over the next few months, will be added into the Designers Speak (Up) online poster collection.

RAMP Gallery is the first stop on the project and exhibition hīkoi around Aotearoa which includes Laurel Projects in Ōtepoti, 2–23 August, and Enjoy Gallery in Pōneke in Spring — with other venues and details to be announced 

*not on the Directory? Join now!

Directory of Women Designers +
Designers Speak (Up)


Full list of contributors to this iteration:

Aakifa Chida
Afifa Chida
Alice Connew
Alice Murray
Alisha Henry
Amy Yalland
Angela Lynskey
Angelika Smuga
Anna Hayes
Anushka Harrison
Caitlin Rassie 

Carol Green
Caroline Konarkowska
Caroline Powley
Catherine Griffiths
Catherine Macdonald
Cindy Tan
Claudia Henty
Corinne Knott
Diana Albarrán González

Eden Kleiman
Ellyse Randrup
Emma Marriott
Emma Rogan
Erin Broughton
Erin Joyce
Eva Charlton
Fay McAlpine
Fiona Lascelles
Hina Nasir
Jade Tang-Taylor
Janelle Rodrigues
Jeanie Tseng
Jenn McEwan
Jessica Holdaway
Jinki Cambronero
Jo Bailey
Kate Darby
Kate Hursthouse
Kathleen Riach
Kimberley Zhou
Laura Griffiths
Lucie Blaževská
Mailin Lemke
Marie Holdaway
Mary Faber
Mel Banfield
Michelle Chang
Nicola Devine
Nicole Phillips
Nikki Apse
Non Disclosure
Petra Scheuber
Pon Huey Min
Rebecca Steedman
Romina Romero
Shabnam Shiwan
Sienna Mark-Brown
Siran Li & Momo Xie
Sita Narsai
Sofia Duganova
Trudi Hewitt
Zofia Seymour

IG / @designersspeakup
FB /